Focus and Scope

ABCS Health Sciences is an inter- and multidisciplinary scientific journal, refereed and open to contributions from the international scientific community. Its mission is to publish and disseminate relevant contributions of interest in the Health Sciences.

Peer Review Process

All manuscripts received (in Portuguese or English) undergo peer review. The Editorial Board chooses external experts (reviewers) to issue anonymous opinion on the manuscript. These opinions are sent to the authors, along with the editors´ comments. If there is a possibility of publication, the authors should review the manuscript considering the suggestions and corrections or present reasons for non-compliance. The manuscripts will be approved for publication only after the final evaluation by reviewers and approval by the Editorial Board.

Authors may be asked to rectify formatting issues in text before the manuscript is sent for analysis by reviewers.

Open Access Policy

This journal provides immediate open access to its content on the principle that freely available scientific knowledge to the public supports a greater global democratization of knowledge.

Authors are encouraged to promote the dissemination of their articles through repositories, following the policy described in the directory Diadorim.

Article Processing Charges

This journal does not charge the authors any fee related to submission and processing of manuscripts.

Authors who wish to publish a second version of the article in another language should be responsible for the additional costs involved.

Ethical Considerations

ABCS Health Sciences follows the ethical conduct and guidelines of the document Recommendations for the Conduct, Reporting, Editing, and Publication of Scholarly Work in Medical Journals (available in for publication of scientific articles. In addition, it is required that all the ethical criteria for research on humans or animals must be respected. Therefore, the authors should state in "Methods" or in "Case Report" sections that the research was conducted within the standards from the Declaration of Helsinki and approved by a Research Ethics Committee.

Anti-Plagiarism Police

All manuscripts received are screened by anti-plagiarism software iThenticate. Manuscripts presenting high text similarity will be rejected.

Journal History

The journal was created in 1978 by students of the Faculdade de Medicina do ABC (FMABC) originally entitled Arquivos Médicos do ABC (ISSN 0100-3992). In the first two years Diretório Acadêmico Nylceu Marques de Castro was responsible for the publication. After 1980 the responsability was shared with the Associação dos Docentes da FMABC.

In 1997 faculty members from FMABC created the nonprofit association NEPAS (Núcleo de Estudos, Pesquisa e Assessoria à Saúde) to, among other purposes, ensure continued publication of the journal.

Two major structural transformations updated editorial guidelines of the journal, including content and scope:

- In 2008, the journal was renamed Arquivos Brasileiros de Ciências da Saúde (ISSN 1983-2451);

- In 2013, the journal was renamed ABCS Health Sciences (ISSN 2318-4965).




Diretório Acadêmico Nylceu Marques de Castro


Diretório Acadêmico Nylceu Marques de Castro e Associação dos Docentes da FMABC


Gérson Vilhena Pereira Filho


Ricardo Peres do Souto


Editorial Board


Gérson Vilhena Pereira Filho

FMABC – Santo André – SP - Brazil


Milton Borreli

FMABC – Santo André – SP - Brazil


Maria Lúcia Tomanik Packer

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Vânia Barbosa do Nascimento

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Luis Henrique Camargo Paschoal

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


José Ricardo Carvalho Lima Rehder

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Ricardo Peres do Souto

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Lourdes Conceição Martins

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Olinda do Carmo Luiz

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Sandra Terezinha Amarante

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Luiz Carlos de Abreu

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Fernando Adami

FMABC – Santo André – SP – Brazil


Guilherme Malafaia Pinto

IFGoiano – Urutaí – GO – Brazil


Márcia de Toledo Blake

UFPA – Soure – PA – Brazil


Vítor Engrácia Valenti

UNESP – Marília – SP - Brazil


Francisco de Assis Guedes de Vasconcelos

UFSC – Florianópolis – SC - Brazil